Over 120 Years of History
Built in 1896, 734 Oak Street operated as Engine House No. 12, one of the original firehouses in Columbus, Ohio, and utilized horse-drawn fire engines.
After sitting vacant for decades, John and Becky Ogden take ownership and historically renovate the building.
The Columbus Music Hall
The building sat vacant for decades until it was historically renovated in 1987 by John and Becky Ogden and operated as the Columbus Music Hall. The interior woodwork was re-milled from the original wood in the haylofts and stalls and installed through the building along with Victorian chandeliers and finishes. The Columbus Music Hall entertained as an event space for 20 years hosting legendary jazz musicians.
A New Chapter
The building was once again left vacant until it was purchased by NPD in late 2017 with the goal of bringing new use and life back to the building and thriving Olde Towne East community. The first floor of Engine House No. 12 will be home to Gemut Biergarten, a local restaurant and brewery group that will create a community gathering place with a grand interior beer hall and welcoming outdoor beer garden patio. The 2nd floor of the building will be used as office space. The beautiful historic brick and iconic front firehouse doors are being repair and restored as well as keeping great restorations done by the Columbus Music Hall. The building will receive a new central tower entry and landscaped courtyard. NPD is working to provide modern updates that allow the building to be functional and useful to today’s businesses, while also maintaining the integrity of the historic features that make this property truly unique. We are confident that this historic building will once again serve the Olde Towne East community as a central gathering place and a source of local pride.